Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Service Area recognizes student achievement

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Service Area

KOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo will recognize students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and leadership during its virtual commencement ceremony set to premiere online June 19.

Amanda Schultz of Kokomo, who is graduating with an Associate of Science degree in Nursing, will be honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Academic Excellence.

Schultz was selected from those students honored with the Dean’s Award in each program who have a 3.75 GPA or higher. Other considerations for this award include leadership, community service, and school involvement.

In nominating Schultz for the top student academic honor, Kelly Williams, interim dean of the Nursing program, noted that Schultz is the first member of her family to graduate from college, achieving a 4.0 grade point average when she completed her degree requirements in December. While at Ivy Tech, Schultz was active in the Student Nurses Association and was selected for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, the international academic honor society for two-year colleges.

Schultz graduated from Lewis Cass High School 20 years ago. Overcoming significant personal obstacles, she began pursuing her interest in the medical field as a volunteer at St. Joseph Hospital – which led to her first job as a patient assistant there in 2007. From 2016 to 2019, she worked a similar job at IU North Hospital in Carmel.

Schultz passed her boards in January and is now working on the Telemetry Medical Surgery floor at Community Howard Regional Health. She says she is glad to be working closer to home with the people of her community – and to be able to serve during this difficult time. She remains committed to volunteering, a passion that developed 24 years ago when, as a middle school student, she logged hundreds of volunteer hours at her local public library. She has also volunteered at nursing homes and for the March of Dimes, the Hospital Cheer Guild, and the Kokomo Urban Outreach UP program.

Her future plans include a bachelor’s degree, supported by “her biggest supporter,” her husband, Justin. Together, they have a blended family of seven children and two grandchildren.

Dean’s Awards honor students who are selected by the faculty chair for each program as the program’s outstanding graduate. Recipients of the Dean’s Award for 2020, and hometowns, are:


            Michelle Rawlins of Kokomo

Advanced Automation and Robotics Technology

            Anthony Templin of Kokomo


Noah Hamrick of Kokomo


Cory Hanson of Kokomo

Business Administration

            Zachary Hutcheson of Kokomo

Business Operations, Applications and Technology

Jody Bowsher of Peru

Criminal Justice

            Catherine Diveley of Kewanna

Cyber Security Information Assurance         Isaac Scott of Kokomo

Dental Assisting

            Keyerstyn Young of Kokomo

Early Childhood Education

            Amanda Walden of Kokomo


Avery Fouts of Kokomo

Engineering Technology

            Alexander Short of Arcadia

General Studies         

Jeana Friedersdorf of Wabash

Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning

            Adam Patrick of Indianapolis

Human Services        

Jossie Helmerick of Windfall

Industrial Technology

Christopher Freeman of Sharpsville

Industrial Technology – Welding

            Gabe Smith-Purvis of Tipton

Liberal Arts

            Fatima Zarate-Martinez of Logansport

Machine Tool Technology

            Tyler Barber of Logansport

Medical Assisting

            Dulcey Brooks of Peru


            Amanda Schultz of Kokomo


            Nicole Anthrop of Lafayette

Practical Nursing TC

            Peggy Whaley of Logansport

Professional Communication

            Sunday Htoo of Logansport


            Jared Hickman of Tipton

Software Development

            Ashley Swing of Kokomo

Surgical Technology

            BreeAnna Bell of Wabash

Visual Communication

            Mary Geesa of Peru

Students honored as members of the Student Leadership Academy include Jared Hickman, Adrian Huizar, Bailee Lytle, Ian McCurdy, and Melanie Walsh.

Those recognized with Military Veterans Honors include Landon Scena-Bolan, Stephen F. Wolfe, Lesley A. Ross, Tamara R. Derrick, Lou A. Helvie, David F. Reynolds, Lenora Stanford, Sarah E. Ogborn, Jeffrey A. Ritter, Jeffrey D. Moore, Ross J. Bates, Joshua D. Clark, Eric Markham, and John T. Hiatt.

Corynne Menard was honored as a member of the All Indiana Academic Team for academic performance, leadership, and service to the College and the community. The All-Indiana Academic Team competition is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, Coca Cola, and the American Association of Community Colleges.