Ivy Tech Kokomo, Logansport campuses induct 64 students into Phi Theta Kappa

KOKOMO and LOGANSPORT, Ind. — Sixty-four students from Ivy Tech Community College’s Kokomo and Logansport campuses were recently honored for their academic achievement with induction into the Alpha Pi Phi (Kokomo) and Beta Gamma Zeta (Logansport) chapters of Phi Theta Kappa international academic honor society.

New members inducted during the fall ceremonies, by hometown, include:

Arcadia: Michelle Roehrich, Kokomo Chapter

Bedford: Jessica Frazier, Kokomo Chapter

Brownsburg: Jamie Moore, Kokomo Chapter

Carmel: Alexandria Church, Kokomo Chapter

Denver: Denise Ostafin, Logansport Chapter

Elwood: Katelyn Hickman, Kokomo Chapter

Idaville: Matison Dewitt, Logansport Chapter

Indianapolis: Angelina Cremoni Phelps, Kokomo Chapter

Kewanna: Erin Frye, Logansport Chapter

Kokomo: Christian Beyer, Christina Brankle, Evan Brewer, Haley Delong, Deanna Durham, Elizabeth Golden, Pierce Hasadinton, Paige Herr, Kristin Ireland, Courtney Kendall, Amber Knight, Jaime Levine, Lani Lewis, Silvia McVay, Sarah Napier, Monica Slonaker, Sarah Wallace, Kori Wood, Alli Workman, and Jessica Young, Kokomo Chapter; India Francis and Braydan Johnson, Logansport Chapter

La Fontaine: Bailey Hobbs, Kokomo Chapter

Lafayette: David Eccles, Kokomo Chapter

Logansport: Nathan Allen, Richard Brewer, Peter Caballero, Rahela Dzambo, Olivia Iles, Hairo Ortega, Melissa Rogers, Joseph Sell, Jennifer True, and Kristin Wilson, Logansport Chapter.

Monticello: Allan Strange, Logansport Chapter

North Judson: Jonathan Kozak, Logansport Chapter

Peru: Dinah Wray, Kokomo Chapter; Mindy Brown, Rachel Campos, Brianna May, Rachel Richter, Amanda Risner, and Brady Turner, Logansport Chapter

Rochester: Melissa Eaton, Rachel Mow, and Jodee Perry, Logansport Chapter

Russiaville: Jennifer Taylor, Kokomo Chapter

Tipton: Jessica Burkett, Erica James, Luis Pedro Cortez, and Alexis Plass, Kokomo Chapter

Walton: Karley Arion, Jason Darland, and Lisa Rider, Logansport Chapter

Two enthusiastic Phi Theta Kappa members spoke at the Logansport induction ceremony April 4. Christina Pifer, an Ivy Tech alumna and past Indiana regional officer, continued her studies at St. Mary of the Woods College and earned a double degree in business administration and human resources. She spoke about the skills she learned through her experience as a Phi Theta Kappa member and regional officer, focusing on team building and effective communication and how she has taken these skills forward into her career in human resources

Jill Stewart, who serves as a 2018-19 Indiana regional vice president, traveled from Elkhart to speak with the chapter about what she called the incredible connections she has made in her short time as a Phi Theta Kappa member. In particular, she spoke about how active membership has led to an extended network of friends from across the state. She also spoke about her excitement for the year to come and what Beta Gamma Zeta and the state organization will accomplish together.

Professor Leo Studach, chair of the science program for Ivy Tech Kokomo who serves as advisor to the Beta Gamma Zeta chapter and as Indiana regional coordinator for Phi Theta Kappa. Studach spoke about his own college journey and the activities he was involved in and how they shaped him. He then discussed how Phi Theta Kappa can offer similar benefits for students who choose to dive in and get the most out of the experiences that are offered through PTK programming.

Currently enrolled students are invited to join the international academic honor society when they have completed at least 12 program-level or college-level credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5. Phi Theta Kappa has a two-fold mission – to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society has been recognizing and encouraging excellence among community colleges since it was founded in 1918. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education with more than 3 million members and nearly 1,400 chapters located in 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, United Arab Emirates, and the Republic of Palau. The recognition and scholarship opportunities that Phi Theta Kappa brings to an institution, its faculty advisors, and most importantly to its student members are unparalleled by any other student organization.

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region