Indiana University Kokomo donors honored at Chancellor’s Guild dinner

KOKOMO, Ind. —Indiana University Kokomo thanked the donors whose partnership provides educational opportunities for students, at the annual Chancellor’s Guild dinner.

Seventy-five donors and friends attended the annual event, hosted by Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke, to honor those who have given $1,000 or more in the last year. Since the celebration began in 2012, the campus has raised nearly $11 million for scholarships, research, student travel, and other opportunities.

“With your generous donations, you help turn hopes, dreams, and goals into possibilities, plans, and actions for our students,” said Sciame-Giesecke. “No matter your affiliation to IU Kokomo, we appreciate your support of our campus. You have made a difference and transformed lives through your gift.”

Thirty-four donors were honored as members of the Seiberling Society, for giving more than $5,000 during the year. Each received an award hand-made by Kokomo Opalescent Glass.

Christina Downey, assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs and student success, said donor partnerships support the mission of the campus, to increase educational attainment in north central Indiana.

“Your support is essential and necessary for us to deliver the quality of education we provide every day,” she said. “We couldn’t do this without you.”

Senior Madi Roswog spoke about the overseas study trips she was able to participate in as a student, with assistance from donor-provided scholarships.

She’s visited Normandy, Omaha Beach, and other sites significant to World War II history, fed malnourished children at a feeding center in Guatemala, and walked the Great Wall of China, on academic-based trips planned by faculty.

“Your contributions have allowed me to have some of the best experiences of my life, and for that I am grateful,” said Roswog, from Kokomo. “There is so much to see and experience out there. I am so glad I had the privilege to see some of it throughout my college career, and it is because of your generous support.”

First year Seiberling Society recipients were William and Marilyn Bersbach, Dianna Delgado and Robert Mullen, APTIV Community Relations Committee, Gordon and Katherine Duerr-LMC Workholding, Kokomo New Car Dealers Association, Shirley Lee, Julie Paris and Dan Grundmann, Allen Safianow, and Julie and Paul Wagner.

Second year honorees were Mike Anderson and Linda Anderson, Jeff Broughton-KipCor, Button Motors, Community First Bank of Indiana, Susan Sciame-Giesecke and Dan Giesecke, NIPSCO, Brent Owens-cfd Investments Inc., Charles and Alice Simons, and Jack and Pam Tharp.

Third year recipients included an anonymous donor, IU Alumni Association, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Hal and Sherry King, and Herbert Miller. Those honored for the fourth time were Raymond and Mary Bonhomme, Community Howard Regional Health, V. William and Nancy Hunt, and Paul Stanley Jr.

Fifth year award winners were Philip Kintzele and Marilyn Skinner, while the Cole Family, Judy Golitko, Jeff and Lisa Smeltzer, and Solidary Community Federal Credit Union received the award for a sixth year.

Seventh-year recipients were the Community Foundation of Howard County and Kathleen Ligocki and Pete Rosenau.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo

Share your love