IU Kokomo honors Teachers of Distinction

KOKOMO, Ind. — A great teacher makes a huge impact on a child’s life.

Indiana University Kokomo’s School of Education honored five of its graduates who are making a difference in their classrooms each day, with its first-ever Teachers of Distinction awards.

“Many of us have fond memories of a teacher who inspired us to do our best, to achieve more than we thought possible, or to love reading, social studies, art, math, or another subject,” said Shirley Aamidor, interim dean. “We have many wonderful teachers in our community, and we are proud to recognize our graduates who have this important role and influence in children’s lives.”

The School of Education, along with the IU Kokomo Alumni Association, honored recipients at a reception Thursday, March 9, in the Kelley Student Center.

Special guest for the event was Jitka Nelson, Indiana’s Teacher of the Year for 2017. Nelson is a high school English language arts, developmental reading, and English learner teacher in the Logansport Community Schools.

A selection committee chose the honorees from nominations submitted by school leaders and advisors.

They include:

• Tiffani (Bonifant) Barnes, B.S. ’12, a social studies teacher at Taylor High School, Kokomo.
• Michelle Brown, B.S. ’02, a Title I reading teacher at Fairview Elementary School, Logansport.
• Carrie Kelly, B.S. ’09, a gifted and talented and STEM teacher at Maconaquah Elementary School, Bunker Hill.
• Tammy Paul, B.S. ’02, a social studies and language arts teacher at Rochester Middle School.
• Misti Sukle, B.S. ’02, an English and language arts at Central Middle International School, Kokomo.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo

Share your love